This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

20th century




20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Barber Samuel

Aitken, Robert

Arnold, Malcolm

Barber, Samuel

Bartók, Béla Viktor János

Beaser, Robert

Bennet, Richard Rodney

Berio, Luciano

Bernstein, Leonard

Bloch, Ernest

Bolling, Claude

Boulanger, Marie-Juliette

Bourdin, Roger

Bozza, Eugène Joseph

Brown, Elizabeth

Brun, Georges

Burton, Eldin

Büsser, Henri

Camus, Pierre

Carter, Elliott

Casella, Alfredo

Clarke, Ian

Colquhoun, Michael

Copland, Aaron

Corigliano, John

Dahl, Walter Ingolf Marcus

Damase, Jean-Michel

Davidovsky, Mario

Debussy, Claude

Del Tredici, David

Denisov, Edison

Dick, Robert

Dohnányi, Ernő

Dutilleux, Henri

Enescu, George

Feld, Jindřich

Ferroud, Pierre-Octave

Foote, Arthur

Foss, Lukas

Françaix, Jean

Fukushima, Kazuo

Gaubert, Philippe

Gieseking, Walter

Gordeli, Otar

Griffes, Charles Tomlinson

Grinblat, Romuald

Grovlez, Gabriel

Guarnieri, Mozart Camargo

Hanson, Howard Harold

Harsányi, Tibor

Harty, Hamilton

Heiss, John

Heith, David

Higdon, Jennifer

Hindemith, Paul

Honegger, Arthur

Hoover, Katherine

Hosokawa, Toshio

Hovhaness, Alan

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Ibert, Jacques

Ichiyanagi, Toshi

Ittzés, Gergely

Jacob, Gordon

Jemnitz, Sándor

Jirák, Karel Boleslav

Jolivet, André

Karg-Elert, Sigfrid

Kennan, Kent Wheeler

Kornauth, Egon

La Montaine, John

Liebermann, Lowell

Martin, Frank

Martino, Donald

Martinů, Bohuslav

Messiaen, Olivier

Mihalovici, Marcel

Milhaud, Darius

Mouquet, Jules

Mower, Mike

Muczynski, Robert

Nielsen, Carl

Offermans, Wil

Piazzolla, Astor

Piston, Walter

Poulenc, Francis

Prokofiev, Sergey

Rachmaninoff, Sergei

Ran, Shulamit

Ravel, Maurice

Reynolds, Verne

Rivier, Jean

Rota, Nino

Roussel, Albert

Rutter, John

Saariaho, Kaija

Sancan, Pierre

Schulhoff, Erwin

Schwantner, Joseph

Sciarrino, Salvatore

Shostakovich, Dmitri

Sibelius, Jean

Tailleferre, Germaine

Takemitsu, Tōru

Taktakishvili, Otar

Varèse, Edgar

Vasks, Pēteris

Weigl, Vally

Weinberg, Mieczysław

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

Yun, Isang

Canzone for Flute and Piano (Op. 38)

Canzone for Flute and Piano (Op. 38)

By Barber Samuel

S. Barber: Canzone for Flute and Piano originally was written in 1958 as Elegy for Flute and dedicated to a friend, German art student and amateur flutist Manfred Ibel while spending summer together in Martha's Vineyard, an island located south of Cape Cod in Massachusetts. In 1962, when Barber was commissioned a Piano concerto for the opening of Lincoln Center in New York, he adapted Elegy music material for the second movement Canzone of his Piano concerto. Nevertheless, this work had been published as Canzone (Elegy) for Flute and Piano (Op 38a) in 1962.

Emily Beynon

Okamoto Tomoya (piano), 2019, live at Dolce Art Hall, Seoul


YouTube icon

Demarre McGill

Chika Nishiwaki (piano), 2015, live at Yotsuya-kumin Hall, Tokyo


YouTube icon

Carol Wincenc

Samuel Sanders (piano), 1986, Nonesuch


YouTube icon

Barber Samuel

Samuel Barber (1910-1981) was an American composer who is mostly known for his Adagio for Strings (arranged from the slow movement of his String Quartet and later adapted as a choral work Agnus Dei in 1967 as well), Symphony in One Movement, Essay for Orchestra  and concertos. Due to his lyric expressivist style, Barber's music often is described as neo-Romantic.