This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

20th century




20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Berio Luciano

Aitken, Robert

Arnold, Malcolm

Barber, Samuel

Bartók, Béla Viktor János

Beaser, Robert

Bennet, Richard Rodney

Berio, Luciano

Bernstein, Leonard

Bloch, Ernest

Bolling, Claude

Boulanger, Marie-Juliette

Bourdin, Roger

Bozza, Eugène Joseph

Brown, Elizabeth

Brun, Georges

Burton, Eldin

Büsser, Henri

Camus, Pierre

Carter, Elliott

Casella, Alfredo

Clarke, Ian

Colquhoun, Michael

Copland, Aaron

Corigliano, John

Dahl, Walter Ingolf Marcus

Damase, Jean-Michel

Davidovsky, Mario

Debussy, Claude

Del Tredici, David

Denisov, Edison

Dick, Robert

Dohnányi, Ernő

Dutilleux, Henri

Enescu, George

Feld, Jindřich

Ferroud, Pierre-Octave

Foote, Arthur

Foss, Lukas

Françaix, Jean

Fukushima, Kazuo

Gaubert, Philippe

Gieseking, Walter

Gordeli, Otar

Griffes, Charles Tomlinson

Grinblat, Romuald

Grovlez, Gabriel

Guarnieri, Mozart Camargo

Hanson, Howard Harold

Harsányi, Tibor

Harty, Hamilton

Heiss, John

Heith, David

Higdon, Jennifer

Hindemith, Paul

Honegger, Arthur

Hoover, Katherine

Hosokawa, Toshio

Hovhaness, Alan

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Ibert, Jacques

Ichiyanagi, Toshi

Ittzés, Gergely

Jacob, Gordon

Jemnitz, Sándor

Jirák, Karel Boleslav

Jolivet, André

Karg-Elert, Sigfrid

Kennan, Kent Wheeler

Kornauth, Egon

La Montaine, John

Liebermann, Lowell

Martin, Frank

Martino, Donald

Martinů, Bohuslav

Messiaen, Olivier

Mihalovici, Marcel

Milhaud, Darius

Mouquet, Jules

Mower, Mike

Muczynski, Robert

Nielsen, Carl

Offermans, Wil

Piazzolla, Astor

Piston, Walter

Poulenc, Francis

Prokofiev, Sergey

Rachmaninoff, Sergei

Ran, Shulamit

Ravel, Maurice

Reynolds, Verne

Rivier, Jean

Rota, Nino

Roussel, Albert

Rutter, John

Saariaho, Kaija

Sancan, Pierre

Schulhoff, Erwin

Schwantner, Joseph

Sciarrino, Salvatore

Shostakovich, Dmitri

Sibelius, Jean

Tailleferre, Germaine

Takemitsu, Tōru

Taktakishvili, Otar

Varèse, Edgar

Vasks, Pēteris

Weigl, Vally

Weinberg, Mieczysław

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

Yun, Isang

Sequenza I for Flute solo

Sequenza I for Flute solo

By Berio Luciano

L. Berio: Sequenza I for solo Flute was written in 1958 and dedicated to Severino Gazzeloni. This is the first of Sequenza, where Berio set himself the task of writing multi-voiced music for the solo instrument. The work is composed with a spatial rhythmic notation, allowing some temporal freedom for the performer. Each of Sequenza often are called "extended techniques"  for exploring the full possibilities of each instrument. Although there's a second, rather significantly altered edition of this piece published in 1992, which Berio himself called "unethical", most flutists still prefer the original edition of 1958. However, it is worthwhile to compare both versions to be able see the differences in flute of thought 34 years apart.

Severino Gazzeloni


Sequenza I

YouTube icon

Emmanuel Pahud

2018, Parlophone Records / Warner

Sequenza I

YouTube icon

Karl-Heinz Schütz

2017, live at Ilsin hall, Seoul

Sequenza I

YouTube icon

Berio Luciano

Luciano Berio (1925-2003) was an Italian composer, known for his experimental works: solo pieces for various instruments Sequenza (18 in total) and Symphony (Sinfonia) for orchestra and eight amplified voices. His musical style was influenced by Igor Stravinsky as well as impressive experiments with serial and electronic techniques.
From 1974-1980 Berio was the director of electro-acoustic division of IRCAM (French Institute known for its research on music and sound).