This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

20th century




20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Debussy Claude

Aitken, Robert

Arnold, Malcolm

Barber, Samuel

Bartók, Béla Viktor János

Beaser, Robert

Bennet, Richard Rodney

Berio, Luciano

Bernstein, Leonard

Bloch, Ernest

Bolling, Claude

Boulanger, Marie-Juliette

Bourdin, Roger

Bozza, Eugène Joseph

Brown, Elizabeth

Brun, Georges

Burton, Eldin

Büsser, Henri

Camus, Pierre

Carter, Elliott

Casella, Alfredo

Clarke, Ian

Colquhoun, Michael

Copland, Aaron

Corigliano, John

Dahl, Walter Ingolf Marcus

Damase, Jean-Michel

Davidovsky, Mario

Debussy, Claude

Del Tredici, David

Denisov, Edison

Dick, Robert

Dohnányi, Ernő

Dutilleux, Henri

Enescu, George

Feld, Jindřich

Ferroud, Pierre-Octave

Foote, Arthur

Foss, Lukas

Françaix, Jean

Fukushima, Kazuo

Gaubert, Philippe

Gieseking, Walter

Gordeli, Otar

Griffes, Charles Tomlinson

Grinblat, Romuald

Grovlez, Gabriel

Guarnieri, Mozart Camargo

Hanson, Howard Harold

Harsányi, Tibor

Harty, Hamilton

Heiss, John

Heith, David

Higdon, Jennifer

Hindemith, Paul

Honegger, Arthur

Hoover, Katherine

Hosokawa, Toshio

Hovhaness, Alan

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Ibert, Jacques

Ichiyanagi, Toshi

Ittzés, Gergely

Jacob, Gordon

Jemnitz, Sándor

Jirák, Karel Boleslav

Jolivet, André

Karg-Elert, Sigfrid

Kennan, Kent Wheeler

Kornauth, Egon

La Montaine, John

Liebermann, Lowell

Martin, Frank

Martino, Donald

Martinů, Bohuslav

Messiaen, Olivier

Mihalovici, Marcel

Milhaud, Darius

Mouquet, Jules

Mower, Mike

Muczynski, Robert

Nielsen, Carl

Offermans, Wil

Piazzolla, Astor

Piston, Walter

Poulenc, Francis

Prokofiev, Sergey

Rachmaninoff, Sergei

Ran, Shulamit

Ravel, Maurice

Reynolds, Verne

Rivier, Jean

Rota, Nino

Roussel, Albert

Rutter, John

Saariaho, Kaija

Sancan, Pierre

Schulhoff, Erwin

Schwantner, Joseph

Sciarrino, Salvatore

Shostakovich, Dmitri

Sibelius, Jean

Tailleferre, Germaine

Takemitsu, Tōru

Taktakishvili, Otar

Varèse, Edgar

Vasks, Pēteris

Weigl, Vally

Weinberg, Mieczysław

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

Yun, Isang

Six epigraphes antiques

By Debussy Claude

C. Debussy: "Six epigraphes antiques" was written in 1914 as part of stage music for Pierre Louÿs's poem cycle "Les chansons de Bilitis" to shape his "Epigraphes Antiques", a work in six movements. Later the same year he arrange it, as an extension of his original work, for piano with four hands. The composition was premiered in Geneva in 1916. Although it was performed, the work was not published during Debussy’s lifetime.

1. Pour invoquer Pan, dieu du vent d'été ("To invoke Pan, god of the summer wind")
2. Pour un tombeau sans nom ("For a nameless tomb")
3. Pour que la nuit soit propice ("In order that the night be propitious")
4. Pour la danseuse aux crotales ("For the dancer with crotales")
5. Pour l'égyptienne ("For the Egyptian woman")
6. Pour remercier la pluie au matin ("To thank the morning rain")

The arrangement for flute and piano seems to correspond to the colors and sound atmosphere that Debussy originally imagined (two flutes, two harps, and a celesta). It takes our imagination on a journey to a dreamland orient and a fantasy Antiquity with the use of pentatonic themes, sounds inspired by gamelans (traditional Indonesian orchestras) but also lascivious dances with dissonances and chromatic variations"
Gabrielle Oliveira Guyon

Vincent Lucas

Laurent Wagschal, piano, 2019, indeSENS

1. Pour invoquer Pan, dieu du vent d'été 2. Pour un tombeau sans nom 3. Pour que la nuit soit propice 4. Pour la danseuse aux crotales 5. Pour l'égyptienne 6. Pour remercier la pluie au matin

YouTube icon

Debussy Claude

Claude Debussy (1862-1918) was a French composer, often regarded as the first impressionist composer, even though he rejected that association with impressionism.  Debussy studied piano at the Conservatoire de Paris and composition with Ernest Guiraud, gradually developing his own style of composition which matured when he was nearly 40 years old and gained international success with his only opera Pelléas et Mélisande. At the age of 18, he started working as a pianist and tutor in the wealthy Russian household of Nadezhda von Meck, the longtime patroness of P.I.Tchaikovsky. Four years later he won Prix de Rome scholarship and spent two years at Villa Medici in Rome. Even though he was impressed by Wagner’s harmonies he was more influenced by Rimsky-Korsakov’s music which he was exposed upon returning to Paris.

Gradually his compositions gained recognition among his fellow composers. In 1983 Ysaÿe string quartet premiered his String Quartet, and the following year he started to compose Pelléas et Mélisande. In 1984 he gained some recognition with his symphonic poem Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune, but his musical efforts were perpetually swept away with his controversial affairs in private life, turning supporters into enemies. Nevertheless, the success of his opera and the following compositions (e.g. La mer; Images) gained wider public recognition abroad than in France. Among his last works: Trio for flute, viola and harp (2015) was written when Debussy was suffering from his fatal illness.