This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.





20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Fauré Gabriel

Andersen, Joachim

Blahetka, Leopoldine

Boehm, Theobald

Bonis, Mel

Borne, François

Caplet, André

Chaminade, Cécile

Chopin, Frédéric

Danzi, Franz Ignaz

Demersseman, Jules-Auguste Edouard

Donizetti, Gaetano

Donjon, Johannes

Doppler, Albert Franz

Fauré, Gabriel

Frühling, Carl

Ganne, Louis

Godard, Benjamin

Grandval, Clémence

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Kuhlau, Friedrich

Mendelssohn, Felix

Mercadante, Saverio

Molique, Wilhelm Bernhard

Mouquet, Jules

Périlhou, Albert

Reinecke, Carl Heinrich Carsten

Saint-Saëns, Camille

Schubert, Franz

Schumann, Robert

Sibelius, Jean

Strauss, Richard

Taffanel, Claude Paul

Tulou, Jean-Louis

Wagner, Siegfried

Widor, Charles Marie Jean Albert

Sicilienne for flute and piano, op. 78

By Fauré Gabriel

Gabriel Fauré: Sicilienne for flute and piano, op. 78 was written in 1893, originally an orchestral piece, as part of unfinished incidental music for Molière’s play “Le Bourgeois gentilhomme”. The Grand Théâtre originally wanted to commission the work to Camille Saint-Saëns but he was too busy and recommended his former pupil Gabriel Fauré instead. The first version of the Sicilienne, was nearly complete when the theatre went bankrupt in 1893. The production was abandoned and the music remained unperformed.

In 1898 Fauré arranged the Sicilienne as a work for cello and piano and was published in London and Paris the same year.
At the same time, Fauré was working on incidental music for the first English production of Maurice Maeterlinck's play "Pelléas et Mélisande". Needing a lighthearted piece for one of the few playful scenes in the drama, he included the Sicilienne along with the new music he wrote for the production.

The final form of the Sicilienne is in the four-movement "Pelléas et Mélisande" suite for full orchestra, arranged by Fauré and published in 1909. The final orchestration differs from Fauré's original 1893 version, written for chamber-sized theatre orchestra: in particular, the main theme is given to the oboe in the original score and to the flute in the final version in the suite.
There are many transcriptions for flute and piano that have been made ever since.

Vincent Lucas

Laurent Wagschal (piano) 2019, indeSENS


YouTube icon

Fauré Gabriel

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924) was a French composer, pianist, organist and teacher. His musical style, linking Romanticism and the Modernism had influenced many composers of 20th century. Despite his lack of time while holding a position as director of the Paris Conservatoire (1905-1920) where he made some important reforms, Fauré managed to escape Paris and continued to compose.
By 1920s he was considered as one of the leading French composers.