This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

20th century




20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Ferroud Pierre-Octave

Aitken, Robert

Arnold, Malcolm

Barber, Samuel

Bartók, Béla Viktor János

Beaser, Robert

Bennet, Richard Rodney

Berio, Luciano

Bernstein, Leonard

Bloch, Ernest

Bolling, Claude

Boulanger, Marie-Juliette

Bozza, Eugène Joseph

Brown, Elizabeth

Brun, Georges

Burton, Eldin

Büsser, Henri

Camus, Pierre

Carter, Elliott

Casella, Alfredo

Clarke, Ian

Colquhoun, Michael

Copland, Aaron

Corigliano, John

Dahl, Walter Ingolf Marcus

Damase, Jean-Michel

Davidovsky, Mario

Debussy, Claude

Del Tredici, David

Denisov, Edison

Dick, Robert

Dohnányi, Ernő

Dutilleux, Henri

Enescu, George

Feld, Jindřich

Ferroud, Pierre-Octave

Foote, Arthur

Foss, Lukas

Françaix, Jean

Fukushima, Kazuo

Gaubert, Philippe

Gieseking, Walter

Gordeli, Otar

Griffes, Charles Tomlinson

Grovlez, Gabriel

Guarnieri, Mozart Camargo

Hanson, Howard Harold

Harsányi, Tibor

Harty, Hamilton

Heiss, John

Heith, David

Higdon, Jennifer

Hindemith, Paul

Honegger, Arthur

Hoover, Katherine

Hosokawa, Toshio

Hovhaness, Alan

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Ibert, Jacques

Ichiyanagi, Toshi

Ittzés, Gergely

Jacob, Gordon

Jemnitz, Sándor

Jirák, Karel Boleslav

Jolivet, André

Karg-Elert, Sigfrid

Kennan, Kent Wheeler

Kornauth, Egon

La Montaine, John

Liebermann, Lowell

Martin, Frank

Martino, Donald

Martinů, Bohuslav

Messiaen, Olivier

Mihalovici, Marcel

Milhaud, Darius

Mouquet, Jules

Mower, Mike

Muczynski, Robert

Nielsen, Carl

Offermans, Wil

Piazzolla, Astor

Piston, Walter

Poulenc, Francis

Prokofiev, Sergey

Rachmaninoff, Sergei

Ran, Shulamit

Ravel, Maurice

Reynolds, Verne

Rivier, Jean

Rota, Nino

Roussel, Albert

Rutter, John

Saariaho, Kaija

Sancan, Pierre

Schulhoff, Erwin

Schwantner, Joseph

Sciarrino, Salvatore

Shostakovich, Dmitri

Sibelius, Jean

Tailleferre, Germaine

Takemitsu, Tōru

Taktakishvili, Otar

Varèse, Edgar

Vasks, Pēteris

Weigl, Vally

Weinberg, Mieczysław

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

Yun, Isang

Three pieces for flute solo

Three pieces for flute solo

By Ferroud Pierre-Octave

O. Ferroud: Three Pieces for Solo Flute was written in 1921 by great influence of Ferroud's teacher, impressionist composer Florent Schmitt. The composition consists of three parts written in a quasi-Chinese style. As for the third part, Ferroud wrote: "The Toan-Yan holiday (or the day of Double Five) is celebrated in China on the fifth day of the fifth month - hence its name - and it is dedicated to commemorate a certain hero who flung himself into a body of water and drowned rather than submited to military dishonor. The solemnity of the holiday gives way in turn to mystical and fervid dances which symbolize the contrast between peace and war."

Marcel Moyse

1933, Paris

1. Bergère captive, 2. Jade, 3. Toan-Yan (La Fete Du Double Cinq)

YouTube icon

Robert Aitken

2011, Believe Music

1. Bergère captive, 2. Jade, 3. Toan-Yan (La Fete Du Double Cinq)

YouTube icon

Emmanuel Pahud

2018, Parlophone Records / Warner

1. Bergère captive

YouTube icon

Emmanuel Pahud

2018, Parlophone Records / Warner

2. Jade

YouTube icon

Emmanuel Pahud

2018, Parlophone Records / Warner

3. Toan-Yan (La Fete Du Double Cinq)

YouTube icon

Ferroud Pierre-Octave

Pierre-Octave Ferroud (1900-1936) was a French composer and music critic. After his initial studies with F. Schmitt in Lyon, Ferroud moved to Paris, gaining success and acknowledgement (for his Symphony in A) by many prominent composers at that time: S. Prokofiev, I. Stravinsky and F. Poulenc.
Besides composing Ferroud regularly wrote reviews for Paris newspaper Paris-Soir. Ferroud tragically died in a road accident while walking on the street in Debrecen (Hungary). Sudden and violent death of Ferroud, reawakened religious faith and new-found seriousness in his friend F. Poulenc who dedicated some of his later works (Litanies à la Vierge noire for female voices and organ; Mass in G for soprano and mixed choir a capella) to P. Ferroud.