This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

20th century




20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Françaix Jean

Aitken, Robert

Arnold, Malcolm

Barber, Samuel

Bartók, Béla Viktor János

Beaser, Robert

Bennet, Richard Rodney

Berio, Luciano

Bernstein, Leonard

Bloch, Ernest

Bolling, Claude

Boulanger, Marie-Juliette

Bozza, Eugène Joseph

Brown, Elizabeth

Brun, Georges

Burton, Eldin

Büsser, Henri

Camus, Pierre

Carter, Elliott

Casella, Alfredo

Clarke, Ian

Colquhoun, Michael

Copland, Aaron

Corigliano, John

Dahl, Walter Ingolf Marcus

Damase, Jean-Michel

Davidovsky, Mario

Debussy, Claude

Del Tredici, David

Denisov, Edison

Dick, Robert

Dohnányi, Ernő

Dutilleux, Henri

Enescu, George

Feld, Jindřich

Ferroud, Pierre-Octave

Foote, Arthur

Foss, Lukas

Françaix, Jean

Fukushima, Kazuo

Gaubert, Philippe

Gieseking, Walter

Gordeli, Otar

Griffes, Charles Tomlinson

Grovlez, Gabriel

Guarnieri, Mozart Camargo

Hanson, Howard Harold

Harsányi, Tibor

Harty, Hamilton

Heiss, John

Heith, David

Higdon, Jennifer

Hindemith, Paul

Honegger, Arthur

Hoover, Katherine

Hosokawa, Toshio

Hovhaness, Alan

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Ibert, Jacques

Ichiyanagi, Toshi

Ittzés, Gergely

Jacob, Gordon

Jemnitz, Sándor

Jirák, Karel Boleslav

Jolivet, André

Karg-Elert, Sigfrid

Kennan, Kent Wheeler

Kornauth, Egon

La Montaine, John

Liebermann, Lowell

Martin, Frank

Martino, Donald

Martinů, Bohuslav

Messiaen, Olivier

Mihalovici, Marcel

Milhaud, Darius

Mouquet, Jules

Mower, Mike

Muczynski, Robert

Nielsen, Carl

Offermans, Wil

Piazzolla, Astor

Piston, Walter

Poulenc, Francis

Prokofiev, Sergey

Rachmaninoff, Sergei

Ran, Shulamit

Ravel, Maurice

Reynolds, Verne

Rivier, Jean

Rota, Nino

Roussel, Albert

Rutter, John

Saariaho, Kaija

Sancan, Pierre

Schulhoff, Erwin

Schwantner, Joseph

Sciarrino, Salvatore

Shostakovich, Dmitri

Sibelius, Jean

Tailleferre, Germaine

Takemitsu, Tōru

Taktakishvili, Otar

Varèse, Edgar

Vasks, Pēteris

Weigl, Vally

Weinberg, Mieczysław

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

Yun, Isang

Suite for flute solo

By Françaix Jean

J. Françaix: Suite for Solo Flute was written in 1962 and adds to the tradition of solo flute compositions of Baroque era. The Suite combines a collection of sophisticated French dances.

Ransom Wilson

2016 Wyastone Estate Limited / Orchard

1. Caprice

YouTube icon

Ransom Wilson

2017 Wyastone Estate Limited / Orchard

2. Pavane

YouTube icon

Ransom Wilson

2018 Wyastone Estate Limited / Orchard

3. Saltarelle

YouTube icon

Ransom Wilson

2019 Wyastone Estate Limited / Orchard

4. Allemande

YouTube icon

Ransom Wilson

2020 Wyastone Estate Limited / Orchard

5. Menuet

YouTube icon

Ransom Wilson

2021 Wyastone Estate Limited / Orchard

6. Marche

YouTube icon

Françaix Jean

Jean Françaix (1912-1997) was a French pianist and composer. He studied at the Paris Conservatory with Nadia Boulanger and was known for his vibrant style of composition. His earlier works were greatly influenced by Maurice Ravel who praised Françaix for his curiosity, ability to explore and constantly move forward. 

Françaix composed over 200  works from which the most profound work is L'Apocalypse de St Jean, the "fantastic oratorio" which was written with sense of approaching catastrophe (1939) and use of electric guitar which may reflect Françaix's idea of Hell.  Besides many compositions in neo-Classical style Françaix is also known for his orchestration of works by Chopin, Mozart, Schubert etc.