This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

20th century




20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Hanson Howard Harold

Aitken, Robert

Arnold, Malcolm

Barber, Samuel

Bartók, Béla Viktor János

Beaser, Robert

Bennet, Richard Rodney

Berio, Luciano

Bernstein, Leonard

Bloch, Ernest

Bolling, Claude

Boulanger, Marie-Juliette

Bourdin, Roger

Bozza, Eugène Joseph

Brown, Elizabeth

Brun, Georges

Burton, Eldin

Büsser, Henri

Camus, Pierre

Carter, Elliott

Casella, Alfredo

Clarke, Ian

Colquhoun, Michael

Copland, Aaron

Corigliano, John

Dahl, Walter Ingolf Marcus

Damase, Jean-Michel

Davidovsky, Mario

Debussy, Claude

Del Tredici, David

Denisov, Edison

Dick, Robert

Dohnányi, Ernő

Dutilleux, Henri

Enescu, George

Feld, Jindřich

Ferroud, Pierre-Octave

Foote, Arthur

Foss, Lukas

Françaix, Jean

Fukushima, Kazuo

Gaubert, Philippe

Gieseking, Walter

Gordeli, Otar

Griffes, Charles Tomlinson

Grinblat, Romuald

Grovlez, Gabriel

Guarnieri, Mozart Camargo

Hanson, Howard Harold

Harsányi, Tibor

Harty, Hamilton

Heiss, John

Heith, David

Higdon, Jennifer

Hindemith, Paul

Honegger, Arthur

Hoover, Katherine

Hosokawa, Toshio

Hovhaness, Alan

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Ibert, Jacques

Ichiyanagi, Toshi

Ittzés, Gergely

Jacob, Gordon

Jemnitz, Sándor

Jirák, Karel Boleslav

Jolivet, André

Karg-Elert, Sigfrid

Kennan, Kent Wheeler

Kornauth, Egon

La Montaine, John

Liebermann, Lowell

Martin, Frank

Martino, Donald

Martinů, Bohuslav

Messiaen, Olivier

Mihalovici, Marcel

Milhaud, Darius

Mouquet, Jules

Mower, Mike

Muczynski, Robert

Nielsen, Carl

Offermans, Wil

Piazzolla, Astor

Piston, Walter

Poulenc, Francis

Prokofiev, Sergey

Rachmaninoff, Sergei

Ran, Shulamit

Ravel, Maurice

Reynolds, Verne

Rivier, Jean

Rota, Nino

Roussel, Albert

Rutter, John

Saariaho, Kaija

Sancan, Pierre

Schulhoff, Erwin

Schwantner, Joseph

Sciarrino, Salvatore

Shostakovich, Dmitri

Sibelius, Jean

Tailleferre, Germaine

Takemitsu, Tōru

Taktakishvili, Otar

Varèse, Edgar

Vasks, Pēteris

Weigl, Vally

Weinberg, Mieczysław

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

Yun, Isang

Serenade for flute and piano (Op. 35)

Serenade for flute and piano (Op. 35)

By Hanson Howard Harold

H. Hanson: Serenade for Flute and Piano (Op. 35) was written in 1945 as a wedding present (rather marriage proposal since he couldn't find the words to propose) to Hanson's wife Margaret ("To Peggy."). Originally this marriage proposal was written as Serenade for Flute, Harp and Strings. The Flute and Piano version was arranged by Hanson in 1948.

Susan Hoeppner

Canadian Chamber Ensemble, Chosei Komatsu (conductor), 2003, Marquis Classics


YouTube icon

Hanson Howard Harold

Howard Hanson (1896-1981) was an American composer, conductor and teacher. In 1921 Hansen was the first winner of the Prix de Rome in Music,  the newly established Rome Prize of American Academy in Rome. In 1924 Hanson was chosen to build and lead the Eastman School of Music. He held the post of director at the school for 40 years, creating one of the best music schools in US. In 1931 Hansen established Festival of American Music, annual weeklong concert festival that was available free to public.
Besides very active teaching and conducting career, Howard Hansen was a prolific composer. Hansen's Neo-Romantic style of composition was greatly shaped and influenced during his three years stay in Rome where he had time to profoundly study works of O. Respighi, R. Wagner, J. Sibelius and M. Mussorgsky. Among his most important works: five symphonies (from which Symphony No. 4 "Requiem" won Pulitzer Prize  in 1944), opera Merry Mount and various chamber music works.