This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

20th century




20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Honegger Arthur

Aitken, Robert

Arnold, Malcolm

Barber, Samuel

Bartók, Béla Viktor János

Beaser, Robert

Bennet, Richard Rodney

Berio, Luciano

Bernstein, Leonard

Bloch, Ernest

Bolling, Claude

Boulanger, Marie-Juliette

Bozza, Eugène Joseph

Brown, Elizabeth

Brun, Georges

Burton, Eldin

Büsser, Henri

Camus, Pierre

Carter, Elliott

Casella, Alfredo

Clarke, Ian

Colquhoun, Michael

Copland, Aaron

Corigliano, John

Dahl, Walter Ingolf Marcus

Damase, Jean-Michel

Davidovsky, Mario

Debussy, Claude

Del Tredici, David

Denisov, Edison

Dick, Robert

Dohnányi, Ernő

Dutilleux, Henri

Enescu, George

Feld, Jindřich

Ferroud, Pierre-Octave

Foote, Arthur

Foss, Lukas

Françaix, Jean

Fukushima, Kazuo

Gaubert, Philippe

Gieseking, Walter

Gordeli, Otar

Griffes, Charles Tomlinson

Grovlez, Gabriel

Guarnieri, Mozart Camargo

Hanson, Howard Harold

Harsányi, Tibor

Harty, Hamilton

Heiss, John

Heith, David

Higdon, Jennifer

Hindemith, Paul

Honegger, Arthur

Hoover, Katherine

Hosokawa, Toshio

Hovhaness, Alan

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Ibert, Jacques

Ichiyanagi, Toshi

Ittzés, Gergely

Jacob, Gordon

Jemnitz, Sándor

Jirák, Karel Boleslav

Jolivet, André

Karg-Elert, Sigfrid

Kennan, Kent Wheeler

Kornauth, Egon

La Montaine, John

Liebermann, Lowell

Martin, Frank

Martino, Donald

Martinů, Bohuslav

Messiaen, Olivier

Mihalovici, Marcel

Milhaud, Darius

Mouquet, Jules

Mower, Mike

Muczynski, Robert

Nielsen, Carl

Offermans, Wil

Piazzolla, Astor

Piston, Walter

Poulenc, Francis

Prokofiev, Sergey

Rachmaninoff, Sergei

Ran, Shulamit

Ravel, Maurice

Reynolds, Verne

Rivier, Jean

Rota, Nino

Roussel, Albert

Rutter, John

Saariaho, Kaija

Sancan, Pierre

Schulhoff, Erwin

Schwantner, Joseph

Sciarrino, Salvatore

Shostakovich, Dmitri

Tailleferre, Germaine

Takemitsu, Tōru

Taktakishvili, Otar

Varèse, Edgar

Vasks, Pēteris

Weigl, Vally

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

Yun, Isang

Danse de la chèvre for Flute solo

Danse de la chèvre for Flute solo

By Honegger Arthur

A. Honegger: Danse de la chèvre (Dance of the Goat) for solo flute was written in 1921 as incidental music for dancer Lysana of Sacha Derek's play La mauvaise pensée (The Bad Thought) and dedicated to flutist Rene le Roy who was a student of Philippe Gaubert at the Paris Conservatory at that time. It was first performed at the Nouveau Théâtre in Paris on 2 December 1921. The original manuscript of this piece has been lost. The editions that are out now were derived from a partial transcript found in Honegger's transcriptionist's works (name unknown). Circular form of the "goat danse" may suggest cyclical nature of life.

Rene Le Roy

1920s, The National Gramophonic Society

Danse de la chèvre

YouTube icon

Vincent Lucas

2014, Indésens Records / Believe SAS

Danse de la chèvre

YouTube icon

Alain Marion

Unfortunately no details available for this recording

Danse de la chèvre

YouTube icon

Emmanuel Pahud

2018, Warner Classics

Danse de la chèvre

YouTube icon

Honegger Arthur

Arthur Honegger (1892-1955) was a Swiss composer who most of his life spent in Paris and is equally known for his eccentric lifestyle (living in different apartments with his wife), obsession with trains (thus his most performed orchestral work "Pacific 231", inspired by the sound of a steam locomotive), as well as numerous distinguished compositions: opera Antigone (1927), 5 symphonies, ballets, oratorios, his last composition "Christmas Cantata" (1953) etc.

Honegger was a member of Les Six, the group of five French (D. Milhaud, F. Poulenc, G. Auric, L. Durey, G. Tailleferre) and one Swiss (A. Honegger) composers who lived and worked in Montparnasse in the early 1920s and which musical style is seen as a reaction against the impressionist music of C. Debussy and M. Ravel.