This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

20th century




20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Hosokawa Toshio

Aitken, Robert

Arnold, Malcolm

Barber, Samuel

Bartók, Béla Viktor János

Beaser, Robert

Bennet, Richard Rodney

Berio, Luciano

Bloch, Ernest

Bolling, Claude

Boulanger, Marie-Juliette

Bozza, Eugène Joseph

Brown, Elizabeth

Brun, Georges

Burton, Eldin

Büsser, Henri

Camus, Pierre

Carter, Elliott

Casella, Alfredo

Clarke, Ian

Colquhoun, Michael

Copland, Aaron

Corigliano, John

Dahl, Walter Ingolf Marcus

Damase, Jean-Michel

Davidovsky, Mario

Debussy, Claude

Del Tredici, David

Denisov, Edison

Dick, Robert

Dohnányi, Ernő

Dutilleux, Henri

Enescu, George

Feld, Jindřich

Ferroud, Pierre-Octave

Foote, Arthur

Foss, Lukas

Françaix, Jean

Fukushima, Kazuo

Gaubert, Philippe

Gieseking, Walter

Gordeli, Otar

Griffes, Charles Tomlinson

Grovlez, Gabriel

Guarnieri, Mozart Camargo

Hanson, Howard Harold

Harty, Hamilton

Heiss, John

Heith, David

Higdon, Jennifer

Hindemith, Paul

Honegger, Arthur

Hoover, Katherine

Hosokawa, Toshio

Hovhaness, Alan

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Ibert, Jacques

Ichiyanagi, Toshi

Ittzés, Gergely

Jacob, Gordon

Jolivet, André

Karg-Elert, Sigfrid

Kennan, Kent Wheeler

La Montaine, John

Liebermann, Lowell

Martin, Frank

Martino, Donald

Martinů, Bohuslav

Messiaen, Olivier Eugène Prosper Charles

Milhaud, Darius

Mouquet, Jules

Mower, Mike

Muczynski, Robert

Nielsen, Carl

Offermans, Wil

Piazzolla, Astor

Piston, Walter

Poulenc, Francis

Prokofiev, Sergey

Ran, Shulamit

Ravel, Maurice

Reynolds, Verne

Rivier, Jean

Roussel, Albert

Rutter, John

Sancan, Pierre

Schulhoff, Erwin

Schwantner, Joseph

Sciarrino, Salvatore

Takemitsu, Tōru

Taktakishvili, Otar

Varèse, Edgar

Vasks, Pēteris

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

Yun, Isang

Lied for Flute and Piano

Lied for Flute and Piano

By Hosokawa Toshio

T. Hosokawa: Lied for Flute and Piano was written in 2007 by comission of the National Flute Association for its Young Artist Competition and dedicated to flutist Paul Taub.

Kolbeinn Bjarnason

Valgerdur Andresdottir (piano), 2010, Naxos


YouTube icon

Hosokawa Toshio

Toshio Hosokawa (1955) is a Japanese composer who studied composition in Germany (Berlin and Freiburg). He was Artistic Director of the annual Yamaguchi Festival and Takefu International Music Festival in Fukui (Japan).
Since 2004 he resides in Japan and Germany, holding permanent guest professor position at the Tokyo College of Music. Hosokawa has won numerous awards and prizes: the first prize of the Berliner Philharmoniker 100th anniversary composition competition (1982), the Arion Music prize (1984) etc. Hosokawa’s musical style is closely related to his compositional process, which is instinctively associated with symbolic interpretation of nature, the concepts of Zen Buddhism. Among his most notable compositions: Circulating Ocean (2005) for orchestra, piano concerto Lotus under the moonlight (2006), Woven Dreams (2010) and the Horn Concerto - Moment of Blossoming (2011).