This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

20th century




20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Piston Walter

Aitken, Robert

Arnold, Malcolm

Barber, Samuel

Bartók, Béla Viktor János

Beaser, Robert

Bennet, Richard Rodney

Berio, Luciano

Bernstein, Leonard

Bloch, Ernest

Bolling, Claude

Boulanger, Marie-Juliette

Bourdin, Roger

Bozza, Eugène Joseph

Brown, Elizabeth

Brun, Georges

Burton, Eldin

Büsser, Henri

Camus, Pierre

Carter, Elliott

Casella, Alfredo

Clarke, Ian

Colquhoun, Michael

Copland, Aaron

Corigliano, John

Dahl, Walter Ingolf Marcus

Damase, Jean-Michel

Davidovsky, Mario

Debussy, Claude

Del Tredici, David

Denisov, Edison

Dick, Robert

Dohnányi, Ernő

Dutilleux, Henri

Enescu, George

Feld, Jindřich

Ferroud, Pierre-Octave

Foote, Arthur

Foss, Lukas

Françaix, Jean

Fukushima, Kazuo

Gaubert, Philippe

Gieseking, Walter

Gordeli, Otar

Griffes, Charles Tomlinson

Grinblat, Romuald

Grovlez, Gabriel

Guarnieri, Mozart Camargo

Hanson, Howard Harold

Harsányi, Tibor

Harty, Hamilton

Heiss, John

Heith, David

Higdon, Jennifer

Hindemith, Paul

Honegger, Arthur

Hoover, Katherine

Hosokawa, Toshio

Hovhaness, Alan

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Ibert, Jacques

Ichiyanagi, Toshi

Ittzés, Gergely

Jacob, Gordon

Jemnitz, Sándor

Jirák, Karel Boleslav

Jolivet, André

Karg-Elert, Sigfrid

Kennan, Kent Wheeler

Kornauth, Egon

La Montaine, John

Liebermann, Lowell

Martin, Frank

Martino, Donald

Martinů, Bohuslav

Messiaen, Olivier

Mihalovici, Marcel

Milhaud, Darius

Mouquet, Jules

Mower, Mike

Muczynski, Robert

Nielsen, Carl

Offermans, Wil

Piazzolla, Astor

Piston, Walter

Poulenc, Francis

Prokofiev, Sergey

Rachmaninoff, Sergei

Ran, Shulamit

Ravel, Maurice

Reynolds, Verne

Rivier, Jean

Rota, Nino

Roussel, Albert

Rutter, John

Saariaho, Kaija

Sancan, Pierre

Schulhoff, Erwin

Schwantner, Joseph

Sciarrino, Salvatore

Shostakovich, Dmitri

Sibelius, Jean

Tailleferre, Germaine

Takemitsu, Tōru

Taktakishvili, Otar

Varèse, Edgar

Vasks, Pēteris

Weigl, Vally

Weinberg, Mieczysław

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

Yun, Isang

Sonata for Flute and piano

Sonata for Flute and piano

By Piston Walter

W. Piston: Flute Sonata was written in 1930 and dedicated to Georges Laurent who premiered it in 1931. The work was greatly influenced by his studies of Arnold Schoenberg's twelve-tone technique which later was applied in his First Symphony (1937) as well.

Julius Baker

Anthony Makas (piano)

1. Allegro moderato e con grazia, 2. Adagio, 3. Allegro vivace

YouTube icon

Nora Shulman

Leslie Kinton (piano), 2021

1. Allegro moderato e con grazia, 2. Adagio, 3. Allegro vivace

YouTube icon

Piston Walter

Walter Piston (1894 - 1976) was an American composer who initially played violin and piano in dance bands while studying fine arts in high school. When it became inevitable that Walter has to join the army service during World War I, he quickly taught himself saxophone and joined the U.S. Navy as a band musician where he learned to play nearly all wind instruments. After the service he studied music at Harvard College which he graduated with honors and received possibility to advance his compositional studies with Nadia Boulanger and Paul Dukas in Paris.
Upon his arrival from Europe, he joined Harvard faculty where he taught until his retirement. Among his notable students: Leonard Bernstein and Elliott Carter, to name a few.
Walter Piston is best known for his ballet "The Incredible Flutist", and Symphonies No 3 and No 6 for which he received Pulitzer Prize. Besides composing Walter Piston is known for his four music theory books: "Principles of Harmonic Analysis", "Counterpoint", "Orchestration", and "Harmony".