This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

20th century




20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Roussel Albert

Aitken, Robert

Arnold, Malcolm

Barber, Samuel

Bartók, Béla Viktor János

Beaser, Robert

Bennet, Richard Rodney

Berio, Luciano

Bernstein, Leonard

Bloch, Ernest

Bolling, Claude

Boulanger, Marie-Juliette

Bourdin, Roger

Bozza, Eugène Joseph

Brown, Elizabeth

Brun, Georges

Burton, Eldin

Büsser, Henri

Camus, Pierre

Carter, Elliott

Casella, Alfredo

Clarke, Ian

Colquhoun, Michael

Copland, Aaron

Corigliano, John

Dahl, Walter Ingolf Marcus

Damase, Jean-Michel

Davidovsky, Mario

Debussy, Claude

Del Tredici, David

Denisov, Edison

Dick, Robert

Dohnányi, Ernő

Dutilleux, Henri

Enescu, George

Feld, Jindřich

Ferroud, Pierre-Octave

Foote, Arthur

Foss, Lukas

Françaix, Jean

Fukushima, Kazuo

Gaubert, Philippe

Gieseking, Walter

Gordeli, Otar

Griffes, Charles Tomlinson

Grinblat, Romuald

Grovlez, Gabriel

Guarnieri, Mozart Camargo

Hanson, Howard Harold

Harsányi, Tibor

Harty, Hamilton

Heiss, John

Heith, David

Higdon, Jennifer

Hindemith, Paul

Honegger, Arthur

Hoover, Katherine

Hosokawa, Toshio

Hovhaness, Alan

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Ibert, Jacques

Ichiyanagi, Toshi

Ittzés, Gergely

Jacob, Gordon

Jemnitz, Sándor

Jirák, Karel Boleslav

Jolivet, André

Karg-Elert, Sigfrid

Kennan, Kent Wheeler

Kornauth, Egon

La Montaine, John

Liebermann, Lowell

Martin, Frank

Martino, Donald

Martinů, Bohuslav

Messiaen, Olivier

Mihalovici, Marcel

Milhaud, Darius

Mouquet, Jules

Mower, Mike

Muczynski, Robert

Nielsen, Carl

Offermans, Wil

Piazzolla, Astor

Piston, Walter

Poulenc, Francis

Prokofiev, Sergey

Rachmaninoff, Sergei

Ran, Shulamit

Ravel, Maurice

Reynolds, Verne

Rivier, Jean

Rota, Nino

Roussel, Albert

Rutter, John

Saariaho, Kaija

Sancan, Pierre

Schulhoff, Erwin

Schwantner, Joseph

Sciarrino, Salvatore

Shostakovich, Dmitri

Sibelius, Jean

Tailleferre, Germaine

Takemitsu, Tōru

Taktakishvili, Otar

Varèse, Edgar

Vasks, Pēteris

Weigl, Vally

Weinberg, Mieczysław

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

Yun, Isang

Joueurs de flûte, for Flute and Piano (Op. 27)

By Roussel Albert

A. Roussel: Joueurs de flûte (The Flute Players) was written in 1924. The composition consists of four parts, each named after a particular flutist from the literature and dedicated to a famous flutist at Roussel's time. 1. Pan: dedicated to Marcel Moyse. 2. Tityre (lucky shepherd from Virgil's "Eclogues"): dedicated to Gaston Blanquart. 3. Krishna (Hindu god who played flute): dedicated to Louis Fleury. 4. Monsieur de la Péjaudie (protagonist from Henri de Régnier's novel "The Sinful Woman"): dedicated to Philippe Gaubert. The "Flute Players" was premiered in 1925 in Paris by Louis Fleury who was a close friend of Roussel.

Here's an excerpt from the review of the cultural magazine "Comoedia", from February 1925. shortly after the Paris premiere: "In the first, the flute seems to indulge in light improvisations, while in the second it dialogues capriciously with the piano. The next, which has a pretty colour, is rather melancholic; as for the last, which apparently evokes the character in a book by Mr. Henri de Regnier, it easily regains the cheerful, playful, and subtle note."

Davide Formisano

Phillip Moll (piano), 2015, Universal

1. Pan

YouTube icon

Davide Formisano

Phillip Moll (piano), 2015, Universal

2. Tityre

YouTube icon

Davide Formisano

Phillip Moll (piano), 2015, Universal

3. Krishna

YouTube icon

Davide Formisano

Phillip Moll (piano), 2015, Universal

4. Monsieur de la Péjaudie

YouTube icon

Alain Marion

Pascal Rogé (piano), Nippon Columbia / DENON

1. Pan, 2. Tityre, 3. Krishna, 4. Monsieur de la Péjaudie

YouTube icon

Peter-Lucas Graf

Michio Kobayashi (piano), 1977, Claves

1. Pan, 2. Tityre, 3. Krishna, 4. Monsieur de la Péjaudie

YouTube icon

Vincent Lucas

Laurent Wagschal, piano, 2019 indeSENS

1. Pan, 2. Tityre, 3. Krishna, 4. Monsieur de la Péjaudie

YouTube icon

Roussel Albert

Albert Roussel (1869-1937) was a French composer who started his music career rather late. Initially interested in math and serving in navy for 7 years,  he studied composition with Vincent D’Indy at the Paris Schola Cantorum where he later taught.
Even though his musical style was greatly influenced by C. Debussy and M. Ravel, his latest works are considered as rather neoclassical.
Among his most popular compositions: ballets Le festin de l'araignée, Bacchus et Ariane, and Aeneas, as well as four symphonies. Among his notable students: Erik Satie and Bohuslav Martinů who dedicated his Serenade for Chamber Orchestra to Roussel.