This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

20th century




20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Sciarrino Salvatore

Aitken, Robert

Arnold, Malcolm

Barber, Samuel

Bartók, Béla Viktor János

Beaser, Robert

Bennet, Richard Rodney

Berio, Luciano

Bernstein, Leonard

Bloch, Ernest

Bolling, Claude

Boulanger, Marie-Juliette

Bourdin, Roger

Bozza, Eugène Joseph

Brown, Elizabeth

Brun, Georges

Burton, Eldin

Büsser, Henri

Camus, Pierre

Carter, Elliott

Casella, Alfredo

Clarke, Ian

Colquhoun, Michael

Copland, Aaron

Corigliano, John

Dahl, Walter Ingolf Marcus

Damase, Jean-Michel

Davidovsky, Mario

Debussy, Claude

Del Tredici, David

Denisov, Edison

Dick, Robert

Dohnányi, Ernő

Dutilleux, Henri

Enescu, George

Feld, Jindřich

Ferroud, Pierre-Octave

Foote, Arthur

Foss, Lukas

Françaix, Jean

Fukushima, Kazuo

Gaubert, Philippe

Gieseking, Walter

Gordeli, Otar

Griffes, Charles Tomlinson

Grinblat, Romuald

Grovlez, Gabriel

Guarnieri, Mozart Camargo

Hanson, Howard Harold

Harsányi, Tibor

Harty, Hamilton

Heiss, John

Heith, David

Higdon, Jennifer

Hindemith, Paul

Honegger, Arthur

Hoover, Katherine

Hosokawa, Toshio

Hovhaness, Alan

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Ibert, Jacques

Ichiyanagi, Toshi

Ittzés, Gergely

Jacob, Gordon

Jemnitz, Sándor

Jirák, Karel Boleslav

Jolivet, André

Karg-Elert, Sigfrid

Kennan, Kent Wheeler

Kornauth, Egon

La Montaine, John

Liebermann, Lowell

Martin, Frank

Martino, Donald

Martinů, Bohuslav

Messiaen, Olivier

Mihalovici, Marcel

Milhaud, Darius

Mouquet, Jules

Mower, Mike

Muczynski, Robert

Nielsen, Carl

Offermans, Wil

Piazzolla, Astor

Piston, Walter

Poulenc, Francis

Prokofiev, Sergey

Rachmaninoff, Sergei

Ran, Shulamit

Ravel, Maurice

Reynolds, Verne

Rivier, Jean

Rota, Nino

Roussel, Albert

Rutter, John

Saariaho, Kaija

Sancan, Pierre

Schulhoff, Erwin

Schwantner, Joseph

Sciarrino, Salvatore

Shostakovich, Dmitri

Sibelius, Jean

Tailleferre, Germaine

Takemitsu, Tōru

Taktakishvili, Otar

Varèse, Edgar

Vasks, Pēteris

Weigl, Vally

Weinberg, Mieczysław

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

Yun, Isang

Addio case del vento for flute solo

Addio case del vento for flute solo

By Sciarrino Salvatore

S. Sciarrino: Addio case del vento for flute solo was written in 1993.

Mario Caroli

2001, Stradivarius / Naxos

Addio case del vento

YouTube icon

Sciarrino Salvatore

Salvatore Sciarrino (1947) is an Italian composer, regarded as one of the most performed Italian composers of contemporary classical music. Born in Sicily, he moved to Rome to study electronic music at the Accademia di Santa Cecilia in Rome. Later he moved to Milan where he taught at the Milan Conservatory. His compositional style was greatly influenced by modernist composer Luigi Nono. Sciarrino's music is avant-garde but complemented with a frequent use of silence.  "...there's one thing without which no delight in sound makes sense, and that is the intensity of silence."
His music can be regarded as complex articulatory blocks which Sciarrino calls "figures", constantly balancing between "being" and "not-being" in terms of traditional sounds.  The concept of the mystical Void has been present throughout many of his works. Among his most noteworthy compositions: opera Amore e Psiche (1972), Un’immagine di Arpocrate (1979) for piano, choir and orchestra. During 1980s and 1990s he created numerous compositions for solo instruments and small ensembles. One of his most outstanding work: II cerchio tagliato dei suoni (1997) for four solo flutes and 100 migrant flutes.