This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

20th century




20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Takemitsu Tōru

Aitken, Robert

Arnold, Malcolm

Barber, Samuel

Bartók, Béla Viktor János

Beaser, Robert

Bennet, Richard Rodney

Berio, Luciano

Bernstein, Leonard

Bloch, Ernest

Bolling, Claude

Boulanger, Marie-Juliette

Bourdin, Roger

Bozza, Eugène Joseph

Brown, Elizabeth

Brun, Georges

Burton, Eldin

Büsser, Henri

Camus, Pierre

Carter, Elliott

Casella, Alfredo

Clarke, Ian

Colquhoun, Michael

Copland, Aaron

Corigliano, John

Dahl, Walter Ingolf Marcus

Damase, Jean-Michel

Davidovsky, Mario

Debussy, Claude

Del Tredici, David

Denisov, Edison

Dick, Robert

Dohnányi, Ernő

Dutilleux, Henri

Enescu, George

Feld, Jindřich

Ferroud, Pierre-Octave

Foote, Arthur

Foss, Lukas

Françaix, Jean

Fukushima, Kazuo

Gaubert, Philippe

Gieseking, Walter

Gordeli, Otar

Griffes, Charles Tomlinson

Grinblat, Romuald

Grovlez, Gabriel

Guarnieri, Mozart Camargo

Hanson, Howard Harold

Harsányi, Tibor

Harty, Hamilton

Heiss, John

Heith, David

Higdon, Jennifer

Hindemith, Paul

Honegger, Arthur

Hoover, Katherine

Hosokawa, Toshio

Hovhaness, Alan

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Ibert, Jacques

Ichiyanagi, Toshi

Ittzés, Gergely

Jacob, Gordon

Jemnitz, Sándor

Jirák, Karel Boleslav

Jolivet, André

Karg-Elert, Sigfrid

Kennan, Kent Wheeler

Kornauth, Egon

La Montaine, John

Liebermann, Lowell

Martin, Frank

Martino, Donald

Martinů, Bohuslav

Messiaen, Olivier

Mihalovici, Marcel

Milhaud, Darius

Mouquet, Jules

Mower, Mike

Muczynski, Robert

Nielsen, Carl

Offermans, Wil

Piazzolla, Astor

Piston, Walter

Poulenc, Francis

Prokofiev, Sergey

Rachmaninoff, Sergei

Ran, Shulamit

Ravel, Maurice

Reynolds, Verne

Rivier, Jean

Rota, Nino

Roussel, Albert

Rutter, John

Saariaho, Kaija

Sancan, Pierre

Schulhoff, Erwin

Schwantner, Joseph

Sciarrino, Salvatore

Shostakovich, Dmitri

Sibelius, Jean

Tailleferre, Germaine

Takemitsu, Tōru

Taktakishvili, Otar

Varèse, Edgar

Vasks, Pēteris

Weigl, Vally

Weinberg, Mieczysław

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

Yun, Isang

Voice for flute solo

By Takemitsu Tōru

T. Takemitsu: Voice for solo flute was written in one day: 8 April 1971 and premiered in Tokyo by Aurèle Nicolet who commissioned the piece. The composition showcases various extended techniques and consists of three sections: Encounter, Active, and Calm. Besides playing the instrument, flutist has to extensively use voice – to sing, speak (quoting a line from Shuzo Takiguchi poem “Handmade Proverbs”: "Qui va là? Qui que tu sois, parle, transparence! (Who goes there? Speak, transparence, whoever you are!)", shout, growl, hum, and click the tongue.

Aurèle Nicolet



YouTube icon

Mark Takeshi McGregor

2013, Redshift Music / Naxos


YouTube icon

Davide Formisano

2014, live performance


YouTube icon

Takemitsu Tōru

Tōru Takemitsu (1930-1996) was a Japanese composer, known for combining elements of oriental and occidental philosophy, mixing sounds, silence, tradition and innovation.
Born in Tokyo, he was enlisted in military service at the age of 14 during World War II. Due to prolonged illness after the war, he was exposed to Western music through the U.S. Armed forces network where he worked at that time. His bitter experiences of Japanese military service explained his unwillingness to pursue traditional music of his native Japan. Mostly self-taught Takemitsu was lured by electronic music possibilities and was a founding member of experimental workshop Jikken Kōbō in early 1950s.

He received international recognition with his Requiem for string orchestra (1957) when Stravinsky accidentally listen to it and later invited him for lunch.  This facilitated his first comission from the Koussevitzky Foundation – symphonic work Dorian Horizon (1966). Further musical explorations of Takemitsu were inspired by Olivier Messiaen, John Cage (and his Zen practice) and Anton Webern as well as studies of traditional Japanese instruments from which his “November steps” for biwa, shakuhachi and orchestra was premiered by the New York Philharmonic Orchestra led by Seiji Ozawa and strengthened his international reputation as one of the leading Japanese composers of the 20th century. Considered as the first Japanese composer who was fully recognized in the West, Takemitsu legacy consists of several hundreds of various works, including scores for more than 90 films and publishing 20 books.