This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

20th century




20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Vasks Pēteris

Aitken, Robert

Arnold, Malcolm

Barber, Samuel

Bartók, Béla Viktor János

Beaser, Robert

Bennet, Richard Rodney

Berio, Luciano

Bernstein, Leonard

Bloch, Ernest

Bolling, Claude

Boulanger, Marie-Juliette

Bourdin, Roger

Bozza, Eugène Joseph

Brown, Elizabeth

Brun, Georges

Burton, Eldin

Büsser, Henri

Camus, Pierre

Carter, Elliott

Casella, Alfredo

Clarke, Ian

Colquhoun, Michael

Copland, Aaron

Corigliano, John

Dahl, Walter Ingolf Marcus

Damase, Jean-Michel

Davidovsky, Mario

Debussy, Claude

Del Tredici, David

Denisov, Edison

Dick, Robert

Dohnányi, Ernő

Dutilleux, Henri

Enescu, George

Feld, Jindřich

Ferroud, Pierre-Octave

Foote, Arthur

Foss, Lukas

Françaix, Jean

Fukushima, Kazuo

Gaubert, Philippe

Gieseking, Walter

Gordeli, Otar

Griffes, Charles Tomlinson

Grinblat, Romuald

Grovlez, Gabriel

Guarnieri, Mozart Camargo

Hanson, Howard Harold

Harsányi, Tibor

Harty, Hamilton

Heiss, John

Heith, David

Higdon, Jennifer

Hindemith, Paul

Honegger, Arthur

Hoover, Katherine

Hosokawa, Toshio

Hovhaness, Alan

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Ibert, Jacques

Ichiyanagi, Toshi

Ittzés, Gergely

Jacob, Gordon

Jemnitz, Sándor

Jirák, Karel Boleslav

Jolivet, André

Karg-Elert, Sigfrid

Kennan, Kent Wheeler

Kornauth, Egon

La Montaine, John

Liebermann, Lowell

Martin, Frank

Martino, Donald

Martinů, Bohuslav

Messiaen, Olivier

Mihalovici, Marcel

Milhaud, Darius

Mouquet, Jules

Mower, Mike

Muczynski, Robert

Nielsen, Carl

Offermans, Wil

Piazzolla, Astor

Piston, Walter

Poulenc, Francis

Prokofiev, Sergey

Rachmaninoff, Sergei

Ran, Shulamit

Ravel, Maurice

Reynolds, Verne

Rivier, Jean

Rota, Nino

Roussel, Albert

Rutter, John

Saariaho, Kaija

Sancan, Pierre

Schulhoff, Erwin

Schwantner, Joseph

Sciarrino, Salvatore

Shostakovich, Dmitri

Sibelius, Jean

Tailleferre, Germaine

Takemitsu, Tōru

Taktakishvili, Otar

Varèse, Edgar

Vasks, Pēteris

Weigl, Vally

Weinberg, Mieczysław

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

Yun, Isang

Landscape With Birds for Flute solo

By Vasks Pēteris

Pēteris Vasks: Landscape with Birds (Ainavas ar putniem) was written in 1980 and dedicated to Latvian flutist Imants Sneibis who premiered it in Riga the same year.
P. Vasks: "In the early seventies (1970s), my children were small and at that time I did not have the opportunity to spend the summer in the countryside since I didn’t have any relatives who lived in the countryside as many did. At the same time, I couldn’t stand the hustle and bustle of the city, especially in the summertime. Then I figured out that there were quite a lot of boarding schools in Latvia at that time and these schools usually stood empty during summer. So, I tried to find out where I could go and spend the summer in one of these schools. Besides, usually, a piano could be also found nearby as well."
The full story: >

Dita Krenberga


Landscape with birds (Ainava ar putniem)

YouTube icon

Vasks Pēteris

Pēteris Vasks (1946) is a Latvian composer who was born in a little town of Aizpute in a family of Baptist priest during Soviet times. After initial music and double-bass studies at the Lithuanian Music Academy, he continued composition studies with Valentin Utkin at the Latvian Music Academy. While working at various orchestras as a double-bass player he composed his first compositions, influenced by works of W. Lutosławski, K.Penderecki and G. Crumb.
Gradually he developed his own style: often including Latvian folk music and programmatic titles. His music is generally extremely clear, referring to nature and above all – relations between nature and man. Starting from 1990s his career took off when violinist Gidon Kremer started to introduce his music to broader audiences. Among his most popular compositions: works for string orchestra Cantabile (1979), Musica dolorosa (1984), six string quartets (the 4th and 5th were composed for Kronos Quartet); violin (1997) and flute (2008) concertos.  He is a recipient of numerous awards and prizes.
Vasks considers flute his favorite woodwind instrument and overall has written 5 different compositions for it:  "Aria and Dance" (1972) for flute and piano; "Landscape with Birds" (1980) for flute solo; Sonata for Flute and Alto Flute solo (1992); Flute concerto (2008), and the "Little Summer music" for flute and piano (2016).