This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

20th century




20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Vasks Pēteris

Aitken, Robert

Arnold, Malcolm

Barber, Samuel

Bartók, Béla Viktor János

Beaser, Robert

Bennet, Richard Rodney

Berio, Luciano

Bernstein, Leonard

Bloch, Ernest

Bolling, Claude

Boulanger, Marie-Juliette

Bourdin, Roger

Bozza, Eugène Joseph

Brown, Elizabeth

Brun, Georges

Burton, Eldin

Büsser, Henri

Camus, Pierre

Carter, Elliott

Casella, Alfredo

Clarke, Ian

Colquhoun, Michael

Copland, Aaron

Corigliano, John

Dahl, Walter Ingolf Marcus

Damase, Jean-Michel

Davidovsky, Mario

Debussy, Claude

Del Tredici, David

Denisov, Edison

Dick, Robert

Dohnányi, Ernő

Dutilleux, Henri

Enescu, George

Feld, Jindřich

Ferroud, Pierre-Octave

Foote, Arthur

Foss, Lukas

Françaix, Jean

Fukushima, Kazuo

Gaubert, Philippe

Gieseking, Walter

Gordeli, Otar

Griffes, Charles Tomlinson

Grinblat, Romuald

Grovlez, Gabriel

Guarnieri, Mozart Camargo

Hanson, Howard Harold

Harsányi, Tibor

Harty, Hamilton

Heiss, John

Heith, David

Higdon, Jennifer

Hindemith, Paul

Honegger, Arthur

Hoover, Katherine

Hosokawa, Toshio

Hovhaness, Alan

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Ibert, Jacques

Ichiyanagi, Toshi

Ittzés, Gergely

Jacob, Gordon

Jemnitz, Sándor

Jirák, Karel Boleslav

Jolivet, André

Karg-Elert, Sigfrid

Kennan, Kent Wheeler

Kornauth, Egon

La Montaine, John

Liebermann, Lowell

Martin, Frank

Martino, Donald

Martinů, Bohuslav

Messiaen, Olivier

Mihalovici, Marcel

Milhaud, Darius

Mouquet, Jules

Mower, Mike

Muczynski, Robert

Nielsen, Carl

Offermans, Wil

Piazzolla, Astor

Piston, Walter

Poulenc, Francis

Prokofiev, Sergey

Rachmaninoff, Sergei

Ran, Shulamit

Ravel, Maurice

Reynolds, Verne

Rivier, Jean

Rota, Nino

Roussel, Albert

Rutter, John

Saariaho, Kaija

Sancan, Pierre

Schulhoff, Erwin

Schwantner, Joseph

Sciarrino, Salvatore

Shostakovich, Dmitri

Sibelius, Jean

Tailleferre, Germaine

Takemitsu, Tōru

Taktakishvili, Otar

Varèse, Edgar

Vasks, Pēteris

Weigl, Vally

Weinberg, Mieczysław

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

Yun, Isang

"Little Summer music" for flute and piano

By Vasks Pēteris

Pēteris Vasks: "Little Summer Music" for flute and piano was written in 1985, originally for violin and piano, and premiered later in early autumn at the Latvian Music Academy in Riga by violinist Jānis Bulavs and pianist Ilona Breģe. Since the composer couldn't stand the hustle and bustle of the city during summer, he usually spent his summers with his family at the dormitory of some boarding school in Latvia which usually was empty during summertime. And, what's more important, usually a piano could be also found nearby as well.
This six-movement composition reflects the composer's admiration of nature as opposed to the brutal conditions of the city that additionally had to withstand the growing problems of Soviet social life at that time.
The version for flute and piano was made in 2016 at the request of Danish flutist Janne Thomsen who wanted to commission a new composition to be premiered at Holstebro International Music Festival. Due to the composer's other engagements at that time, he offered to make a flute arrangement of his "Little Summer Music". This new original arrangement was premiered in October 2016 by Janne Thomsen and pianist Bengt Forsberg.

Janne Thomsen

Marianna Schiriniyan (piano), live performance at the Stiftfestival 2019

I. Broadly, sonorously II. Unhurried III. Vigorously IV. Sadly V. Cheerfully VI. Broadly.

YouTube icon

Vasks Pēteris

Pēteris Vasks (1946) is a Latvian composer who was born in a little town of Aizpute in a family of Baptist priest during Soviet times. After initial music and double-bass studies at the Lithuanian Music Academy, he continued composition studies with Valentin Utkin at the Latvian Music Academy. While working at various orchestras as a double-bass player he composed his first compositions, influenced by works of W. Lutosławski, K.Penderecki and G. Crumb.
Gradually he developed his own style: often including Latvian folk music and programmatic titles. His music is generally extremely clear, referring to nature and above all – relations between nature and man. Starting from 1990s his career took off when violinist Gidon Kremer started to introduce his music to broader audiences. Among his most popular compositions: works for string orchestra Cantabile (1979), Musica dolorosa (1984), six string quartets (the 4th and 5th were composed for Kronos Quartet); violin (1997) and flute (2008) concertos.  He is a recipient of numerous awards and prizes.
Vasks considers flute his favorite woodwind instrument and overall has written 5 different compositions for it:  "Aria and Dance" (1972) for flute and piano; "Landscape with Birds" (1980) for flute solo; Sonata for Flute and Alto Flute solo (1992); Flute concerto (2008), and the "Little Summer music" for flute and piano (2016).