This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

20th century




20th century

21st century

Solo repertoire


Alto flute

Bass flute

Yun Isang

Aitken, Robert

Arnold, Malcolm

Barber, Samuel

Bartók, Béla Viktor János

Beaser, Robert

Bennet, Richard Rodney

Berio, Luciano

Bernstein, Leonard

Bloch, Ernest

Bolling, Claude

Boulanger, Marie-Juliette

Bourdin, Roger

Bozza, Eugène Joseph

Brown, Elizabeth

Brun, Georges

Burton, Eldin

Büsser, Henri

Camus, Pierre

Carter, Elliott

Casella, Alfredo

Clarke, Ian

Colquhoun, Michael

Copland, Aaron

Corigliano, John

Dahl, Walter Ingolf Marcus

Damase, Jean-Michel

Davidovsky, Mario

Debussy, Claude

Del Tredici, David

Denisov, Edison

Dick, Robert

Dohnányi, Ernő

Dutilleux, Henri

Enescu, George

Feld, Jindřich

Ferroud, Pierre-Octave

Foote, Arthur

Foss, Lukas

Françaix, Jean

Fukushima, Kazuo

Gaubert, Philippe

Gieseking, Walter

Gordeli, Otar

Griffes, Charles Tomlinson

Grinblat, Romuald

Grovlez, Gabriel

Guarnieri, Mozart Camargo

Hanson, Howard Harold

Harsányi, Tibor

Harty, Hamilton

Heiss, John

Heith, David

Higdon, Jennifer

Hindemith, Paul

Honegger, Arthur

Hoover, Katherine

Hosokawa, Toshio

Hovhaness, Alan

Hüe, Georges Adolphe

Ibert, Jacques

Ichiyanagi, Toshi

Ittzés, Gergely

Jacob, Gordon

Jemnitz, Sándor

Jirák, Karel Boleslav

Jolivet, André

Karg-Elert, Sigfrid

Kennan, Kent Wheeler

Kornauth, Egon

La Montaine, John

Liebermann, Lowell

Martin, Frank

Martino, Donald

Martinů, Bohuslav

Messiaen, Olivier

Mihalovici, Marcel

Milhaud, Darius

Mouquet, Jules

Mower, Mike

Muczynski, Robert

Nielsen, Carl

Offermans, Wil

Piazzolla, Astor

Piston, Walter

Poulenc, Francis

Prokofiev, Sergey

Rachmaninoff, Sergei

Ran, Shulamit

Ravel, Maurice

Reynolds, Verne

Rivier, Jean

Rota, Nino

Roussel, Albert

Rutter, John

Saariaho, Kaija

Sancan, Pierre

Schulhoff, Erwin

Schwantner, Joseph

Sciarrino, Salvatore

Shostakovich, Dmitri

Sibelius, Jean

Tailleferre, Germaine

Takemitsu, Tōru

Taktakishvili, Otar

Varèse, Edgar

Vasks, Pēteris

Weigl, Vally

Weinberg, Mieczysław

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

Yun, Isang

Garak for flute and piano

Garak for flute and piano

By Yun Isang

I. Yun: Garak for flute and piano was written in 1963 and premiered in Berlin in 1964 by Karl Heinz Zoller. Inspired by Chinese and Korean non-court music and religious music of temples Yun composed two compositions in the beginning of 1960s while residing in Freiburg: Gasa for violin and piano, and Garak for flute and piano. 

Jasmine Choi

Hugh Sung (piano), live permormance at the Hoam Art Hall in Seoul, Korea, 2010


YouTube icon

Yun Isang

Isang Yun (1917-1995) was a Korean composer who initially studied violin, cello and composition in Korea and Japan. During Japanese occupation in World War II Yun was imprisoned for being active member of Korean independence movement. After the war he taught music at various schools and universities in Korea. In 1956 he managed to come to Europe to study composition in Paris and Berlin. He permanently moved to West Berlin in 1964 but was abducted in 1967 by Korean Park regime which sent him to Seoul and imprisoned him for life. Nearly 200 artists from around the world petitioned for his release until Yun was released in 1969. The petition was initiated by Igor Stravinsky and Herbert von Karajan. Upon his return to Germany, he became a professor of composition at the State College of Arts in Berlin where he worked until 1985.
Isang Yun’s music is characterized as a fusion of traditional Korean music with modern techniques of Western music called “sound compositions”. Among his most notable compositions: 5 symphonies, Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra (1975), Flute Concerto (1977), and Violin Concerto No.1 (1981). Among his other compositions for flute: Etudes I-V for flute solo (1974), Salomo for alto flute solo (1977), and Sori for flute solo (1988).