This website is using cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Flute competitions
Geneve International Music Competition

Geneve International Music Competition

Founded in 1939, the Geneva Competition is one of the world’s leading international music competitions.  The "Concours International d'Exécution Musicale" (CIEM) is a founding member of the World Federation of International Music Competitions (1957), whose headquarters are located in Geneva. Today, the Geneva Competition alternates between eight main disciplines: piano, flute, clarinet, cello, viola, string quartet, voice and percussion. Every second year, it offers a composition prize.

The next competition for Flute:

The 77th Concours de Genève will be presenting Flute & String Quartet and will take place from 23 October - 4 November 2023 in Geneva, Switzerland.

2023 Flute Jury:
Silvia Careddu, Chair, Principal Flute of the Orchestre National de France
Denis Bouriakov, Principal Flute of the Los Angeles Philharmonic
Magali Mosnier, Principal Flute of the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France
Loïc Schneider, Principal flute of the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande
Seiya Ueno, Solo artist
Henrik Wiese, Solo flautist of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
Hyeri Yoon, Professor of flute at the Seoul National University

Flute repertoire, application, prizes and additional information  

Laureates of previous competitions

Adriana Ferreira, Portugal: 2nd prize
Yubeen Kim, South Korea: 2nd prize
Elena Badaeva, Russia: 3rd prize
Silvia Careddu, Italy: 1st prize
Sabine Morel, France: 2nd prize
Sarah Louvion, France: 3rd prize
Emmanuel Pahud, Switzerland: 1st prize
Anna Garzuly-Wahlgren, Hungary: 2nd prize
Ye Ri Yoon, South Korea: 3rd prize
Hideaki Sakai, Japan: 2nd prize
José-Daniel Castellon, France: 2nd prize
Irena Grafenauer, Yugoslavia: 1st prize
Gilles Burgos, France: 2nd prize
Irena Toshiko Kohno, Japan: 1st prize
Lô Angelloz, France: 2nd prize
Guy Cottin, France: 2nd prize
Kim Chang Kook, South Korea: 2nd prize
Paula Robinson, USA: 1st prize
Jean-Claude Gérard, France: 2nd prize
Michel Debost, France: 1st prize
Alf Andersen, Norway: 2nd prize
Jean-Pierre Eustache, France: 2nd prize
Louis Hébral, France: 2nd prize
Raymond Guiot, France: 1st prize
Christian Lardé, France: 2nd prize
Maxence Larrieu, France: 2nd prize
Christian Lardé, France: 2nd prize
Aurèle Nicolet, Switzerland: 1st prize
Christian Lardé, France: 2nd prize
Kurt Redel, Germany: 2nd prize
Léon Leroy, France: 1st prize
Gabriel Deschamps, France: 2nd prize
Antonio Zuppiger, Switzerland: 2nd prize
André Bosshard, Switzerland: 2nd prize
Jeanine Ducray, Switzerland: 2nd prize
Edmond Oechslin, Switzerland: 2nd prize
Willy Urfer, Switzerland: 1st prize
André Jaunet, France: 1st prize